jump to navigation

I am an auntish January 11, 2008

Posted by Laura in Uncategorized.
trackback

My best friends daughter was born this morning at 10.20am, weighing 7lbs4.5oz. Her parents are in love. I am so filled with joy and renewed hope.

Welcome to the world little girl.

I had my appointment with Sims today. My lining is the appropriate thickness for someone around CD8 (which we have decided that I am) so we have a plan, we have added more drugs into the mix and we’re all set to go.

I have thought of so many ways in the last little while to speed this cycle up, to bring it forward and they have all failed. When I stopped today and took a breath I realised that I can’t speed it up, I can’t hasten what needs time and I also need to be free in the time that I am free. So now I am just waiting, and counting.

We had our first visit to the Panda enclosure today. D & J did OK together but it is going to take them a few visits to be more settled in each others company. I know that by the time we leave him for the egg collection they will be fine together.

The results of my blood tests came back. My B12 levels are fine but there wasn’t enough blood to test the rest so they want more. I have to go back on Monday to have more taken.

A lesson for the fertiles 🙂

My list of drugs that I am collecting next week are:

Down regulating
Syranel (Buserelin)
Storage: Room temperature out of direct sunlight
Administration: 0.5ml subcutanetous injection once a day
Side effects: Mood swings, period pain, overly emotional, nausea, bloating.

Stimming
Puregon
Storage: Stored in the fridge.
Administration: Using the Puregon pen, injected into your abdomen or thigh, once a day in the evening.
Side effects: Tends to counteract the effect of the Syranel. Causes your follicles to grow which can cause cramping and will cause abdominal swelling.

Anticoagulation
Aspirin
Storage: Room temperature
Administration: 1 tablet once a day
Side effects: Increased bruising

Heparin
Storage: Room temperature
Administration: 0.25ml subcutaneous injection twice a day at exactly 12 hour intervals
Side effects: Increased bruising

Antirejection
Steroids
Storage: Room temperature
Administration: 5 tablets, once a day, before 10am
Side effects: Increased appetite, bloating, insomnia

Trigger
Pregnyl 5000 IU
Storage: In the fridge
Administration: Water (from one bottle) is mixed with the powder (in the 1st other bottle), that is then mixed with the powder (in the 2nd other bottle) and then injected into your abdomen. Strictly follow the instructions given by the clinic.
Side effects: May cause a rash. You may feel all your other symptoms going. This is normal.

Before ER
Vibramcin Caps
Storage: Room temperature out of direct sunlight
Administration: Orally as instructed by the clinic. Twice a day.
Side effects: Risk of thrush (normal side effect of an antibiotic)

Egg Retreival
Hypnovel – 5ml
Storage: Room temperature out of direct sunlight
Administration: By the staff in the clinic at ER.
Side effects: It’s a sedative so it is going to “knock you out”

Flagyl Suppos 500mg
Storage: Room temperature out of direct sunlight
Administration: By the staff in the clinic par rectum after ER to prevent infection.
Side effects: None of note.

Post Egg Retreival
Gestone – 50mg
Storage: Room temperature out of direct sunlight
Administration: IM injection into your thigh or hip once a day usually in the evening.
Side effects: Discomfort at injection site. May delay the onset of AF.

Cyclogest Pessaries 400mg
Storage: Room temperature out of direct sunlight
Administration: Vaginal pessary once a day usually in the morning.
Side effects: Yucky, smelly discharge. May delay the onset of AF.

After ET
Estrofem Tabs
Storage: Room temperature out of direct sunlight
Administration: You will probably be directed to take 2 orally and 1 vaginally from the day of transfer
Side effects: None of note.

The list price for that lot is about €4000. Thank goodness for the Drug Payment Scheme.

I am tired just thinking about all of it!

Comments»

1. Ruth - January 12, 2008

Jaysus L, that’s some list of drugs!

I’m waiting too. Am six weeks pill free and no sign of AF. It’s not comparable to the ‘joys’ of ivf I know but in some small way I can empathise..

2. R - January 12, 2008

oh and welcome little girl, it’s always good to hear of a new life come safely into the world.


Leave a Reply

