jump to navigation

I am validated January 22, 2008

Posted by The Mom in allergies, parenting.
trackback

Today we went back to see the allergist to have skin tests and get the results of D’s blood tests that were done in November. The skin test & blood results showed a significant allergy to milk protein & its derivatives. We left the consultation €420 lighter with a prescription for antihistamines and an epi pen. He said that he doesn’t normally give the epi pen to milk allergy kids but because D has presented twice with significant respiratory complications after being exposed to milk he is getting, or rather I am getting, a pen.

He insisted we see the dietitian but to be honest because I had kept him cows milk free from birth I knew everything she said to me.

I am sick and tired of all of the eye rolls that have come after I said that I was restricting what he ate “just in case” and now I know that I was right to be careful.

So… I am validated!

Comments»

1. Ruth - January 23, 2008

It’s a pity this didn’t come before your family get-together, at least your sister wouldn’t have been able to roll her eyes at what you restrict from his diet!


Leave a Reply

