jump to navigation

Quiet whispers April 25, 2008

Posted by The Mom in IVF, Love, pregnancy.
trackback

We drove home from Dublin this evening with such peace in the car. Every now and then I would whisper quietly “arms & legs”.

The wait in the hospital was FOREVER. The hospital has this stupid process of giving people an appointment time and then seeing them on a first come, first served basis. We were 20 minutes early for our appointment but were 6th on the list so it was shortly before 2 before we were seen (for our 1.10pm appointment). By the time the woman ahead of me went in I was sitting on a full bladder and was starting to overheat (too many anxious women sitting in the waiting room waiting) and the woman ahead of me was in with the doctor for far.too.long!

We went in, gave the basic IVF details, lay up on the bed, she put the wand on and started waffling about growth since the last scan etc and I said (well, I kinda snapped), “is there a heart beat?” She went on with “we have to make sure that we can see all sorts of things, there is no point telling you there is a heart beat and then have to take it back, blah blah”. She said that the heart was beating, and the baby was the right size. She eventually commented that neither of us had looked and it was only then that she pointed out the monitor at the foot of the bed that we could see the proceedings on. HAHAHA.

The arms and legs were wriggling away and the heart was beating blue & red (all very fancy). M just kept kissing me, the same wet sloppy kisses that he gave me when D was born.

Our next appointment is with the Ob on May 20th.

Comments»

1. N - April 25, 2008

Arms and legs!

2. Jawl - April 25, 2008

I am so happy to read this. Your baby is beautiful. I have been following your story for a while and have been thinking about you all day. I felt things would be fine though. I hope it continues like this.

3. Chicky - April 25, 2008

Me again.
Crying like a big sap at a scan that’s not even mine.
I am just so happy for you.

4. Roobu - April 25, 2008

Hurrah!!! It’s the TwanBean!!
Arms and legs and they don’t want to see you for a month! I am so, so pleased for you. We will have to have a playdate so I can stare at your tummy in a pleased and slightly envious fashion!

5. Laura - April 25, 2008

As soon as I can drive further than Tesco we will definitely have to have a play date!

6. Carey - April 25, 2008

Fantastic news!! I am so happy for you all….

7. Susan - April 25, 2008

Hello Little Baba! Youre quite a little cutie aren’t ya…. with your waving at the camera at 9 weeks old!!!

(L – SMILING SMILING SMILING for you!!)

8. Jen - April 26, 2008

Hooray! Yay for arms, legs & heartbeat in red and blue. At our u/s on Tuesday we saw the red & blue thing for the first time… how cool!

9. Derval - April 26, 2008

Deadly biscuits!
Thrilled for you


Leave a Reply

