jump to navigation

Our garden May 13, 2008

Posted by The Mom in Garden.
trackback

Firstly I am surprised that no one had anything to say about my post from Saturday night. Maybe it was a little more cryptic than I think it is and I simply confused people.

I have been so tired for so long and nauseated thrown on top of the tiredness that I simply hadn’t had the energy to get into the garden and get something started. Then 3 weeks ago on a beautiful

Tuesday afternoon D & I needed something to do while M was cooking on the BBQ, so we got some gardening trays out and got something started.

We planted (well, I put the peat in the tray & D put the seeds where I indicated then I made another layer of peat) spring onions, leek, kale & kohl rabi in one tray (top image) and in the other we put lots and lots of mixed cut & come again lettuce (bottom image). Those trays are now almost ready to plant on.


We have since made another two trays, this time adding mange tout (top image) & spinach (bottom image) to the mix.


It has been glorious here for the last few weeks and EVERYTHING is growing.

We have blossoms on our tiny apple tree.


We have flowers on our raspberry canes & new canes springing up everywhere

M’s unknown tree that lived in a pot in his parents yard in the middle of inner city Dublin for years is in full bloom in the garden.


M has grown horsechestnuts trees from chestnuts that he collected in Belvedere last Autumn.


Our blueberry is in flower


I feel so happy in my garden these days. I am so glad I got things planted and have more to do this week. I need to add purple sprouting broccoli & string beans into the next tray. Oh, and courgettes. M has decided he wants to grown corn. I have visions of a field of corn in my garden next year.

Comments»

1. Jacqueline - May 14, 2008

It’s obviously going to a blooming summer in the Twan household this year!

2. Chicky - May 14, 2008

Ohhhhhhh, greeny yumness.
The weather has been ideal here too – our rhubarb is plotting to take over the world. I shall have to speak sternly to it, and carry out my custardy threats soon!

3. Laura - May 14, 2008

Rhubarb is just wrong! I don’t know why anyone would eat it LOL

4. Lisa Carroll - May 15, 2008

Congratulations Laura..your baby is blossoming just like the plants in your garden


Leave a Reply

