jump to navigation

A blast from the past May 23, 2008

Posted by The Mom in Uncategorized.
trackback

Almost 10 years ago I spent 3 weeks in rural South Africa with a pen pal that I met as a result of an ad placed in a newspaper. It was the most peaceful 3 weeks of my life. I read, I learned about cricket, I saw elephants and lions and leopards and rhino and buffalo and a cheetah (and many more animals) in the wild, where they should be. It was a fantastic experience and I remember it with fondness.

Over time IVF took over from my hobbies and interests and then pregnancy on D took away my ability to function beyond just staying alive and growing a baby. In that time I lost touch with my pen pal.

Tonight I got an email from him, out of the blue. A one line blast from the past. As much as this pregnancy fills my heart with love that email made my brain smile.

Some day I will go back there, the next time I will bring my husband and children though and we will see oolifants where they belong.

Comments»

1. theclam - May 27, 2008

Oooh come back to South Africa! It would be cool to meet you, and you could save some pennies by staying with me 😉

2. Heather Johnson - May 29, 2008

What a fantastic experience! We actually had 2 exchange students from Northern Ireland stay with us when I was in high school. My sister and I then visited them the following year. Several years later, they came back to the US to be in my wedding. And in ’04 my entire family went to Ireland to visit them again.

I thinks it’s fabulous to have friends spread out across the world, even if you don’t speak on a regular basis. I hope you get a chance to revisit your friend some day.

(NaComLeavMo)

3. Tanya - June 1, 2008

OOOOH! I’ve been thinking about going to Africa… maybe as a graduation present for my son (ROFL… he’s 9 months old). But seriously I went to England, France and Germany a few years ago so if I take another major trip I’d like to go somewhere different. I’m an anti-zoo kind of girl but I think it would be awesome to see all the animals in their “home”.


Leave a Reply

