jump to navigation

Some good news, some not so good news & one of lifes regrets May 29, 2008

Posted by Laura in finances, pregnancy.
trackback

The DHL man tried to deliver my RED Birkenstocks today but I was in town so I missed him. He is coming back tomorrow (not so good & good news)

The statement of earnings came from my very old employer and I seriously over estimated the tax I had paid but such is life. (not so good news)

I have very few regrets in life but I sat on the balcony watching my mother & D in the swimming pool this afternoon and regretted ringing my clinic in August 06 to ask what their opinion of swimming while pregnant was. Their opinion is don’t risk it and having had 2 miscarriages I am not risking anything so I can’t get into the water with them. (one of lifes regrets)

Comments»

1. Candid Engineer - May 29, 2008

Ahh… Birkenstocks. I bought my first pair 10 years ago, and they still look great and I still love them. This year for some reason I decided to buy two more pairs- different styles. I haven’t been brave enough to go with a non-neutral…yet. As if I have more $$ to spend on sandals!

2. Momma Mary - May 29, 2008

Seriously? You can’t swim in the water when you’re pregnant? I’d assume it has more to do with micro-organisms than anything else? I was told that I SHOULD swim (so long as it was clean water). I’m soo sorry about that! Perhaps I’m speaking stupidly, because I don’t know your history.

At any rate, try to relax. Have a sip of lemonade, and read a book, or play on the internet. 🙂

3. Laura - May 29, 2008

The clinic, when asked, said that the risk, no matter how small, is significant enough to be considered. I have had 2 miscarriages (at earlier stages than this) and I can’t take any risk, no matter how small.

4. Fiddle1 - May 30, 2008

I bet, if you asked him nicely, D would love to squirt you with the water hose the next time he goes swimming and you feel left out! I’m so happy you are in the 2nd trimester, and I’m sorry for the loss of your first two babies.
I’m sure you hear this from folks in the US all the time, but I LOVED Ireland when I visited for a couple of weeks back in November 2004. My H and I flew into Dublin and drove round the southern and western coast up to Doolin and back. We want to see the North sometime on our next trip. My favorite stops were Rathdrum and Glendalough, Baltimore, walk from Kenmare to Killarney, Anascaul, and Kinsale. You have a lovely country.

5. JuliaS - May 30, 2008

Congrats on getting this far! Wishes for a long healthy pg with a nice chubby screaming bonus at the end.

Thanks for stopping by my blog and your kind comments.

Enjoy the red birks!

6. Alyson & Ford - May 30, 2008

Take care of yourself and enjoy the view! Have a great weekend.

Alyson LID 01/27/06

7. korechronicles - May 30, 2008

That’s one pair of cute sandals. Hope they arrive and you can start showing them off tomorrow. Understand the reason for the not swimming – you have to do whatever it takes. And there will be another summer for swimming.

Thanks for the NCLM visit and comment!

8. wanttobeamom - May 30, 2008

Thanks for commenting on my blog! I used to wear Birkies (as we called them) all the time. Unfortunately, now I live somewhere really humid and Birkenstocks give me blisters. =(

Just an aside, I travelled in Ireland a couple times while I was studying in England. Ireland was my favorite place of all time! And, I met the nicest people I have ever met in my life! Hubby and I have actually talked about moving there someday. Now, he just needs to find a job there…

9. littleangelkisses - May 30, 2008

Ahh…a new pair of shoes always makes me feel better!

I hope the tax things go well, we are having issues with the big bad IRS too…blech.

10. Kim - May 30, 2008

So sorry you missed your shoes! Congrats on your pregnancy. I understand about not taking chances during pg – especially after a loss or few. I didn’t touch a drop f caffeine, no artificial sweeteners, no lunch meat, no hot dogs etc. I actually even had a duck baby bath thermometer in the tub with me to make sure the water wasn’t above the recommended temperature! Here from NCLM!


Leave a Reply

