jump to navigation

A general malaise June 15, 2008

Posted by The Mom in Games, pregnancy.
trackback

I am not sure what is going on but I have been uninspired this week so nothing, including blog reading and writing have gone by the wayside. To be honest I am not even sure why I came on here today.

I was referred to a blog on Thursday that is being written by a man who’s daughter was born on March 24th and wife died on March 25th this year. She didn’t get to see her daughter because of bedrest following her c-section. My heart is sore for Matt & Madeline.

I realised recently that while I know that I have the symptoms of pregnancy that are physically pregnant (itchy skin, nausea, raised BP, visual disturbance, swollen ankles etc) but I am having a hard time believing that I have the ultimate symptom of pregnancy, the baby growing in uterus symptom.

For some reason the other night I started thinking that although I am hearing a heartbeat every day that the baby is not growing. I think it was in part caused by the fact that I use my doppler low down, under my belly. So I have been listening higher and higher and was pleasantly surprised to find the heart beat with the probe at my belly button. Who knew?

Yesterday, after my shower, I realised that while my belly is still mostly fat, I have a hollow on either side of what is obviously a bump! That came as quite a surprise, let me tell you.

We have just come back from a few days in Dublin, visiting with my family. My aunt, who lives in London, was there. We haven’t seen her in a very long time so it was great to have a few days with her. She has been blind for 29 years and it is all I have ever known. She started D in his journey of learning to work with a blind person over the weekend. She got him to guide her to the bathroom & her bedroom. She asked him what colour her clothes were and asked him to choose a necklace that was a similar to her top. He did really well in all of his responsibilities except for when he took her for a walk in the garden & didn’t know he had to tell her that the rotary washing line was in their path so she bopped her head on the line. He knows now to tell her where the washing line is! I was so proud of him doing it. I remember guiding her when I wasn’t much older than him.

We had game night in my sisters house last night. They play modified pictionary with modified rules. Rather than always drawing the word on the card you are dependent on the roll of a dice to decide whether you use drawing, mime or Playdoh. It is great fun and made all the better by the fact that my brother & I won! The last time we played (at Christmas) M & my eldest sister won so it was nice to reset the score sheet.

Comments»

1. Heather J. - June 16, 2008

dropping by for NaComLeavMo – hi!

First off, I wish you a completely healthy pregnancy and a wonderful new baby at the end.

Second, man do I MISS Dublin! I was there only briefly in 2004 but I fell in love with the city. If I ever get back to Dungiven to visit my friends there, I MUST get back down to Dublin as well.

Third, your modified Pictionary sound a lot like a game called Cranium … have you ever played it? It’s loads of fun. 🙂

2. Eliza - June 19, 2008

Here from NCLM. Congratulations on your pregnancy! I’m not up to Scattergories (hypothyroidism makes you stupid–should you ever suddenly feel your IQ drop fifty points get your thyroid tested!) but wanted to drop by and flash you the NCLM sign.

3. occasouseshy - August 3, 2008

Very nice!!


Leave a Reply

