jump to navigation

A Vision of You June 29, 2008

Posted by The Mom in parenting.
trackback

I have thought about writing this post for most of the last week but didn’t know what exactly what to say. Different people have different opinions of me. Of course everyone is entitled to their own opinion and while I would prefer they kept it to themselves they are also free to say what they want. That doesn’t mean I have to listen.

I have found of late I have been more and more careful about what I write on the internet. Not the amount of personal information I share but the opinions I voice. I am reluctant to talk about breastfeeding, cloth nappies, car seats, co sleeping, sling use, homeschooling, heck, just about anything that describes the way that I parent D, because to be honest most of those subjects incite a riot most of the time. For an easy life I don’t talk about them but then leave a gaping hole in that whole part of my life. I am also reluctant to discuss my faith but that is for a whole other set of reasons.

Recently I have been touched by a gesture made by a woman I have never met. Part of her reasoning for the gesture is that she has been in awe of me for some time. I do not believe I live any sort of life worthy of being awed. I try my best and don’t get to where I would like to be a lot of the time.

So is the life that people see online in any way a reflection of the one that I actually live? Am I worthy of their awe, appreciation or anger?

Comments»

1. R - June 30, 2008

I think that because what we project online is a self-edited version of ourselves it’s not a full reflection of what we’re really like.

I have enjoyed when you talked about various parenting and lifestyle choices you have made, regardless of whether I subscribed to them. If you feel it’s too much to deal with the riot then by all means don’t talk about them, but if you want to you are assured at least one interested listener!

2. R - June 30, 2008

Just thinking back about that comment and I wasn’t quite clear on what I meant!

Because we present an edited version of ourselves people might see things about us that cause them to find us awe- or anger-inspiring when in reality that’s only a small piece of us surrounded by all the usual ordinary life stuff!

I think that what you have gone through/are going through to make a family is awe inspiring. As well you know it’s more than me & him are prepared to do..

3. Adie - July 1, 2008

I think it’s a bit like that for most of us, no matter which way we decide to parent…. nappies…I used disposables, and I used cloth, at different times, and both times, I had different sets of people think I was mad for my choice!

And I agree with the commenter above..what we present online is a sanitised version of our real lives, it’s a shiny, happy, glossy life, where we glide through parenting, with our little cherubs, and our drop-dead gorgeous husband who we adore… but actually most of the time, my house looks like a bomb went off, scattering stuff everywhere, my kids are constantly asking for food or digging in the muck and bringing me in bugs, and as for my DH..well, I do love him, but we’re not going to be appearing in any Hollywood blockbuster love affair any time soon!


Leave a Reply

