jump to navigation

Banging my head on a brick wall July 2, 2008

Posted by The Mom in parenting.
trackback

Someone told me last night that it was a good thing that I wasn’t banging his head on the wall instead!

And now back to the beginning. D is hard work these days. There is not a day that goes by without me being incredibly grateful that I have him but it is tough going hiving him right now. He is slapping a lot at the moment and appears to be so angry with everything, including M & I. The slapping has evolved into throwing (anything and everything) usually at the ground but often at me.

The dynamic has changed in our house since we started the last IVF cycle. Things are different, especially now that I am visibly pregnant & slightly more incapacitated.

Yesterday evening he whined and moaned for 2 hours before bedtime and it escalated if he was unable to do something (the zip on the suitcase wasn’t working the way he wanted to work it, etc). He threw his Wheelybugs across the kitchen along with one of the laundry baskets. The Wheelybugs came out the other side unphased but the laundry basket was broken in the process and then all hell broke loose.

I feel like I simply can’t get him to listen to me when I am talking to him. I am sick of the sound of my own voice repeating the same sentences over and over again.

After a morning of repeating myself and telling him that I am sad & disappointed when he doesn’t do what I ask him to do there is little or nothing done in the house but each task is being done slightly quicker and I am tired!

Comments»

1. R - July 2, 2008

Ah the joys of the threenager!

I think mostly they’re trying to figure out where they fit into the world. testing their boundaries and finding their limitations frustrating.
Added to that the uncertainty of what the new baby means for him and his place in the family and I guess it’s tough to be D at the moment. (And even tougher to be D’s mama!)

It will pass, I hope you’re not too frazzled when it does!

I have to admit, it’s one more (selfish I know) reason I love preschool – I have 3 hours every morning to myself and it refreshes me no end.

2. Team Sully - July 2, 2008

L – It sounds quit a lot like what we are going through at the moment. I am hoping and wondering if it’s just a stage of learning their own boundaries and getting a little more familiar with their emotions and power. Who knows? Hang in there!

3. shelli - July 3, 2008

the book: “1,2,3 magic” has been a life saver for us. It’s REALLY Magic.

I used to proudly say that I only had to get to 2 – and NOW? I only have to say “that’s 1” and she stops.

Seriously.

And Cheeky is WILLFULL! Those first few time outs in her room were HORRID – she’d destroy her room, and the like, but the no emotional response during or after seems to work.

Let me know if you want a copy.

xo and hugs

4. Adie - July 11, 2008

Thanks for this post, because I know I’m not alone in this. I love my ds, he’s my “miracle”, my “bonus”, the one I never dreamt I’d have…but he is SUCH hard work. I have a 16 year old ds who is not a bother, none of the teenage dramas, angst and sullenness I was told to expect. The only dramas, angst and sullenness in this house come from the 3 year old (slightly older than D, mine was born Dec ’04).

I had to walk away last night from him and get somebody else to take over, because flinging one of us under a car seemed like a good idea (and I wasn’t concerned as to which one of us it was). We’ve got through the 2 year old tantrums, this is a completely new territory, and despite him being boy #3, it’s a territory I’ve never walked before, and I can’t wait to be out of it, because my patience is being tried at every turn.


Leave a Reply

