jump to navigation

Who is your Louise Brown? August 28, 2008

Posted by Laura in Uncategorized.
trackback

I stole this idea from another IVF Mamma.  She referred to the son of a friend of mine as her Louise Brown as he was the first baby to have been born through IVF where she witnessed (online) the whole process.  Her own son was born, having been made through IVF, not long after.

Her comment led me to think about my own Louise Brown.  But before I go there let me fill in some details for those of you who have been living under an IVF rock for the last 30 years.  Louise Joy Brown (born July 25, 1978, in Oldham, Greater Manchester, England) is the world’s first baby to be conceived by in vitro fertilisation, or IVF.

D is my Louise Brown.  He is the first baby that I “saw” born from the IVF process.  I have since met older children who were made in a lab but didn’t know any of them before D came about.

Sometimes, when someone announces a natural conception, I am really surprised that babies are still made the normal way.  I actually haven’t had one of them for a while, now that I think about it. 🙂  It must be the circles I move in these days.

So, reading public, who is your Louise Brown?

Comments»

1. Poppy - August 29, 2008

Your bump!

2. ajourneythrough - August 29, 2008

Poppy… that is sweet. Thank you 🙂

3. G - August 29, 2008

yes,
your bump is my louise too!!

4. Ruth - August 30, 2008

A set of B/G twins the same age as C are the first IVF children that I met but they were babies when we first got to know them so it’s only since MM that I ‘saw’ people battle with infertility through ivf and into parenthood.

5. moi - September 18, 2008

one of my very good friends….


Leave a Reply

