jump to navigation

Update September 6, 2008

Posted by Laura in Uncategorized.
trackback

I am 28w2d now and I would like to know where the last 10 weeks have gone.  Not that I want to go back there or get them over again but I can’t believe how fast they have passed.  My bump is getting bigger by the day and it tipped forward during the week so it appears bigger (more out to the front) and lower.  The baby is moving all the time, except for this morning when it didn’t move AT.ALL!  I hadn’t used my doppler in weeks but having had no movement for 2 hours I had to take a quick listen and of course it is jumping around for the Nation now.

I have decided to bring dark chocolate rice cakes with me for after the GTT on Tuesday.  I like them, they have fast & slow carbs in them and are edible on an empty stomach.

D & I are going to Dublin on the train on Monday and will stay in my mothers for the night.  I haven’t told him that we are going on the train yet because I would get nothing done for the next 48 hours if he knew 🙂

In the last 10 days or so D has started getting up in the night if he needs to pee which is fantastic for me.  If he wakes to pee before I go to bed he comes to look for me rather than going to pee so I think I need to head to bed at 10 for a few nights and see if he wakes himself in the evening.

I spoke to The Car Seat Guy during the week and once I had told him who was speaking he said “I have one!”  Now that I think of it there is a good chance I didn’t mention this at all before so I will talk about it now.  Most people have a hobby horse.  I have a few.  One of them is carseats.  Shortly after I got pregnant I discovered that Bri.tax were bringing out a new lie flat bassinette.  I still have the ultra safe infant carrier that D used (and it is still within the safe age for the plastic) but I really don’t like the ergonomics of tiny baby + infant carrier so was delighted to see the bassinette.

I rang The Car Seat Guy in July & he said that he had seen it and loved it.  He also told me that Bri.tax had intended to release it in June.  I told him that once he had it by September I was happy.  His first one, the one that I am buying, arrived into his shop on September 1st!  This is what it looks like.

I am so excited about it, in part because it is one of the only things that I am buying for this baby.  Now I need to go to Belfast to have him fit it.  I am perfectly capable of fitting it myself but at 6.5 months pregnant (7.5 by the time I get to Belfast) I don’t want to be fitting a car seat for the first time, on my own.  I have been there, done that on D’s original car seat and I don’t want to do it again.

Work converting the apartment into the new barber shop is carrying on a pace.  Of course M is watching work on a daily basis and so isn’t seeing huge changes.

D is currently driving a tractor around our living room with a wooden Santa on the back of it.

The most recent felt food swap auction is up on ebay (auctions are ending this evening, sorry for the delay getting it out there).  If you bid (and win) you won’t have to pay shipping from the US as I am having stuff sent over in the next week or so & they can hitch a ride.  I made the canoli.  Please take a look.

I forgot to say that I am suitably impressed with myself that I am 28w now and have gained 8lbs.  I was (and still am) a big woman but 8lbs is excellent.  I gained a total of 30lbs on D and it was all gone by the time he was 2 weeks old.  This time I would love to come home lighter than I was before the cycle began.

My cleaner is back YAY!  My house looks respectable again which I am delighted about.  The wedding went off without a hitch and everyone is happy.  She is content that they are coping on their own.  The bride was 18.5 and the groom was 21 (I think).  I didn’t know who I was at 18.5 but cultures are different and she was 18 months older than her mother was when she got married.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

