jump to navigation

If Induction Day was Saturday November 22, 2008

Posted by Laura in Uncategorized.
trackback

would people read my blog on the weekend?

I forgot about Denzo’s poll earlier.

I had an unfavourable induction on D (unfavourable because while he was head down his head wasn’t fully engaged and there were no cervical changes) which required one Prostin gel and ARM (artificial rupture of membranes) 7 hours later.  17 hours after that (and 3 epidurals) I was 10cm dilated and was told to “sit on it” for an hour (essentially to rest) before I started pushing.  D was born 90 minutes after that.  So he was born 19.5 hours after my waters were broken.

In spontaneous labour/birthing there would be an expectation that subsequent labour/birthings would be quicker and the Ob thinks that things will be faster but I am not holding my breath.  His estimation of Induction Day is “gel in at 8 before he goes into theater, ARM at about 1pm & have the baby in the afternoon”.  Obviousy I would love for ID to go that way but I am not holding my breath.

And all of that brings us to the poll.  How long will it be between ARM & birth?  There is no point polling gel to birth because there is a small chance that I won’t need gel at all.

Comments»

1. jacqueline - November 23, 2008

So hard to guess this one. In theory, your second labour should be faster but if TIO isn’t ready for it, well it could take longer. I had a very faster labour on #3 and when induced on #4 (via ARM) they said it would be very fast. It took almost 19 hours. So I think it really depends on how much TIO wants to be born! I hope it takes about 4-6 hours. Long enough to ease you into labour, nothing fast and furious, nothing so long that you’re exhausted by the pushing stage. Best of luck.

2. Ruth - November 23, 2008

I voted 4-8 but that’s just cos it’s a middle-of-the-road guess. I wouldn’t have a clue how it all works, I was either end of the extreme.

On C my waters broke spontaneously 25 hours before contractions started & in total 40 hours before he was born. 😦 On S they broke my waters and she arrived two hours later!

Looking forward to hearing the news 🙂

3. Poppy - November 23, 2008

Are you going to do a poll on when ID is?? 😉

4. Lorna - November 23, 2008

Hi there,

Will tell you my induction story. DD was induced the day before her EDD – ARM at 10 am and she was born at 12.26pm the same day so not even 2 and half hours in total – hope you have a similar experience.

Will be thinking of you this coming week.

5. denzo - November 23, 2008

I’m being positive on your behalf and going under 4 hours. I’m guessing 3hrs 37m to be exact.

Btw, my dd1 tried to pocket a felt banana today. I’m guessing it was one of yours?

6. ajourneythrough - November 23, 2008

The banana was indeed one of mine. I wonder who won them.

I voted 4 – 8 hours and hope I am wrong (on the long side).

7. denzo - November 23, 2008

She was more than puzzled when I told her I couldn’t buy it for her when she asked. I tried to explain she had to win it, but she didn’t grasp it so she literally tried to pocket it instead.

Unfortunately for her, she didn’t win it either. 🙂

8. ajourneythrough - November 23, 2008

Poor girl 😦 D had a hard time getting the fact all the apples, oranges, pears, bananas and strawberries weren’t for him. I felt like all I said was “They are not for us, they are for other people”

9. Caz - November 25, 2008

My waters were broke on Michael and 3 hrs later I had him. I have heard this quickens the process but Im guessing only if things are ripe. Hoping all goes well, and quick for you. Take Care, Caz

10. jacqueline - November 25, 2008

I know how ‘I’ did – but woud love to hear how YOU did! Any chance of the password – if indeed the protected post is about how things went. I’m delighted for you and your family – was thinking about you on Monday and wondering how things went. Take care. Jacqui


Leave a Reply

