jump to navigation

No drinking, please April 9, 2009

Posted by The Mom in Uncategorized.
trackback

We are visiting my parents for the weekend. When we visit we go swimming. Because J can be in pool for a shorter time than D, I bring a towel for J & a dressing gown for me. When J has had his swim I get out, put on the dressing gown, get him out (he stays with my mother or sister in the interim), wrap him in his towel & nurse him on the bank (about 8′ from the edge of the kids pool) while I watch D & his cousin swimming.

Today the pool was quite cold so we didn’t last long. Not long after J started having a drink, in the most discrete way possible, the life guard looked down at me (from on high) and the following conversation ensued:

LifeGuard: You are going to have to go into the changing room to do that.
Me: Excuse me?
LG: You are going to have to go into the changing room to do that, there are children around (waving toward the kids in the pool that wouldn’t notice me if I had a sign over my head)
Me: No I don’t
LG: I know you are feeding the baby but you are going to have to go into the changing room to do it.
Me: You can’t make me go anywhere
LG: You are going to have to go into the changing room to do that (slightly more forcefully this time), there are children around
Me: My son is in the pool & I am not leaving him
LG: Is there someone in there with him?
Me: My mother is but I am with him too & I am not leaving him.
LG: Listen, my boss will be on to me & I’ll get in trouble. You have to go into the changing room because there are children around.
Me: Go ahead & call your manager. You can’t make me go anywhere.

At this point I will add that while I am overwhelmingly pro breastfeeding I am not militant. I was more covered than the swimmers & did not want a fight.

He climbed down & walked to the other end of the pool where he was met by a woman who I presume was his manager. They chatted for a while & he went & sat on another bank of the pool. No one else came near me & when J was finished he sat up, sucked his fingers & we watched his brother swimming until J decided to poop on my lap, at which point we hastened our exit.

I have to say that I have now heard it all… I shouldn’t breastfeed my infant because there are children around 🙄

Comments»

1. Poppy - April 9, 2009

I’m sorry that happened to you L. Ignorant fecker.

2. liljimmi - April 9, 2009

Go Laura! Good for you. What an ignorant jerk!

3. Amanda - April 10, 2009

Silly little man messing with a woman trying to feed her child!!

4. Ruth - April 10, 2009

At least the manager had the sense to leave you be.

Hope you have a great Easter 🙂

Oh & how is D finding the change in bedrooms?

5. Adrienne - April 14, 2009

Now I’ve heard it all! That’s the best ever….. best not horrify the children (children who wouldn’t spend their swimming time by looking at a mother feeding anyway!) and who will probably see a heck of a lot more once they’re in the changing rooms anyway.

I’m gobsmacked that this even happened. Thankfully never once was I asked to stop feeding out in public – I’ve even fed a newborn, while pushing a shopping trolley (with a toddler in it) around the supermarket. Needs must and all that.

Hope D enjoyed his swim!

6. Missie - April 16, 2009

I hope the manager said to him…”don’t be so stupid, she’s feeding her baby!”
Grrrrrr!!!

7. Ruth - May 19, 2009

Leave a Reply

