jump to navigation

Steep learning curve May 8, 2009

Posted by The Mom in Uncategorized.
trackback

So today we had our first hypo since we realised what is going on. It happened because of a miscommunication. Before he left the bed this morning I offered D a slurper (pouch of fruit puree) & he said he would have one with M. When J was settled I got up assuming D had had a slurper & toast with M & offered him porridge a little later. At that point he started a carb eating frenzy, all the while his blood sugar was dropping & I couldn’t figure out why.

It took about 2 hours to get him back but by then he was hyper & I was beyond tired. In all of my attempts to get his sugar back up I didn’t eat myself & I was dangerously hungry. A hyper D & a hungry/tired me is a BAD combination.

When M got home we realised that D didn’t mention the slurper to M this morning & so had only had toast when I got up.

What I have learned that he has to have a slurper before he leaves the bed, he has to have almond butter on toast with M & I have to eat breakfast every day. M wants me to take D to the doctor but I know I will be told to keep an eye on what he is eating.

This “having kids” lark is exhausting.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

