jump to navigation

Gone to the fixers July 26, 2009

Posted by The Mom in Uncategorized.
trackback

My laptop backlight has been failing for a while and was randomly turning itself off. On Tuesday night it turned off and stayed off. On Wednesday I took it to the fixers and was told that it would be “no more than a week, no more than €100” to fix it. What was I going to do without my laptop for a week????

I started cleaning my kitchen counters, removing an overwhelming amount of shite that is in my kitchen and then I got working on sorting out the fact that J doesn’t gain very much weight. I had decided a while ago that he had a posterior tongue tie and when I googled I found that after 8 months doctors insist on a GA to do a release so I didn’t take it any further. Then in the space of 3 weeks he gained nothing and I couldn’t do nothing any more. A few friends gave me some numbers and I got an appointment for yesterday with a GP in Kildare who does tie releases in his practice.

I spent 2 days thinking of the argument that I would give for releasing it. I spent 2 nights having dreams of the guy telling me that J was too old or the tie wasn’t serious enough or that there wasn’t a tie there at all.

Yesterday we went and sat for an hour still worrying about being sent away. The GP listened to our story, looked in J’s mouth and agreed with me that there was a tie and it was worth clipping. Bish bash bosh and the scissors was out!

Then J got a broken mouth! The poor baby couldn’t nurse because his mouth just wasn’t working the way it used it. It took paracetamol & some quiet time to get him to nurse properly and now it is like nothing happened.

I feel so guilty for listening to people tell me for 6 months that he was fine, bright, growing, sleeping, happy etc when I was always aware that he was only gaining 2oz a week rather than the “recommended” 5 – 8oz a week. Now I feel guilty for breaking his mouth. Oy! The guilt never ends.

Comments»

1. Lorna - July 28, 2009

I still feel guilty I let B bawl for nearly six months thinking she was a narky child whilst she really had awful reflux and couldn’t help herself – talk about a major case of Mammy guilt!! I couldn’t let her squeak for at least a year afterwards because of it. But as some good friends told me at least I looked for a solution and did something about it when I got a diagnosis.

Don’t feel guilty please please please!!!!!

Hugs all around to you all.

2. Adie - July 29, 2009

The guilt never ends..too right. You’ll beat yourself up for not doing the right thing, as well as beating yourself up for doing the right thing. Doesn’t matter if they’re 6 months, 6 years or 16 years, it’s a constant game of second-guessing, and hoping and wondering what is the right thing to do.

Hope J’s broken mouth heals quickly.


Leave a Reply

