jump to navigation

6 pounds September 12, 2009

Posted by The Mom in Uncategorized.
trackback

I arrived home on Wednesday morning after a FANTASTIC trip with cankles and a gut full of food. I ate what I wanted, which was of course limited by the dairy thing, and loved every mouthful of it. I had tons of kettle corn, made fresh in the market last Saturday, and it was divine! We are trying to come up with a plan to get kettle corn to me by USPS as quickly as possible 🙂

My weigh in is Thursday morning, the morning after I came home, and needless to say I had gained weight in the week. 6 pounds! I am sure at least half of it was in my gut and my ankles and the rest of it I thoroughly enjoyed.

I started an 18 point week on Friday morning and am about 3/4lb heavier than I was before I went away. I am hopeful of shifting the whole 6lbs before I go back on Thursday.

Now back to the trip. I had such a wonderful time and J was such a wonderful travel companion. We shared a room with Calliope and W for the first two nights and boy are they great room mates! It was so nice to have someone to talk to in the late nights and early mornings of parenting small babies.

On our first full day we had the honour of attending Kate & Trish’s wedding along with Calliope & Sophia & Mikey. It was a wonderful day, perfect weather and a beautiful demonstration of 2 people declaring their love for each other and celebrating the right to have that love & committment protected by law. I was a blubbering wreck by the time Kate’s brother declared them married. We celebrated with them for the evening and then took the babies home to bed.

Sunday did not go as planned. Calliope got a call from her Mom to say that her Grandmother was in The Decline. It was time for her to go home, to cut short her first time away from home in 14 months. Calls were made, car seats were moved and Calliope was driven to the airport 90 minutes away.

Our other 2 nights were spent in Kate’s mom’s guest suite which was wonderful. We went shopping in craft and fabric stores 🙂 Monday afternooon was spent in Field of Dreams which was great.

Tuesday was packing & shopping (and a lovely burger at Hamburger Mary’s) and off to the airport. 2 of the air stewards on the way back had been on the outbound flight & were so attentive to us. They even let us sleep in the crew sleepers 🙂 We arrived in Dublin on Wednesday morning expecting my mother to collect us & there was M & D! I was stunned & delighted 🙂

Just like when I got back from DC in the Spring, I miss my friends.

Comments»

1. Blondie - September 13, 2009

We miss you too! It was a whirlwind, wonderful time!


Leave a Reply

