jump to navigation

Widow Twankie October 6, 2009

Posted by The Mom in Uncategorized.
trackback

The central heating is back on and therefore the tumble dryer is off limits! I reckon there are 11 loads of laundry to do in a week so I did up a schedule to get them all washed and dried (in the house) without having to use the dryer. Obviously if it is a fine day I wash what I can and get it dried outdoors (like today) but on an ordinary day I can get 2 loads dried (one through the day, one over night). The logistics of scheduling laundry is not as straight forward as I thought. J’s washes obviously have to be 3 days or so apart, as do his nappy washes. The bedding gets changed on Tuesday so I figured it should be washed straight away to get it out of the way. Then I remembered that the towels & face cloths get washed in with the bedding and J goes through MANY MANY face cloths in a week so the bedding needs to be washed like the nappies a few days apart. So, I have a schedule. Now I need to stick to it 🙂

I never thought I would be happy and content to have a laundry scedule but it fills me with peace because I would count up what was to be washed, realise that there are 4 or 6 loads of washing and I am paralysed by not knowing where to start washing them. Right now there are 4 loads of washing in the house waiting to be done but I am not distressed about it.

Comments»

1. Caz - October 6, 2009

i am seriously gonna rob this one from you. i am a washing freak. dont mind washing it, dont mind drying it (though i must say, my name is caz and i am a dryeraholic). but honest to god, the thoughts of putting it away make my head spin and i have no idea why. at present i have a load washing a load trying a load waiting to go in and 2 loads from yesterday in the kitchen waiting to be put away. so by tonight this will all be in the kitchen and i will honestly stand looking at it for a good 4-5 mins with my hand on my head DREADING the thought of putting it away. i know where it goes. each piece has its place, but still it scares me. i need help!!!!!

Laura - October 6, 2009

My solution to that one comes from Jon & Kate Plus Eight (which I never watched but my mother loved it & told me about it often). Buy 4 laundry baskets. … one for the girls, one for M, one for you & yer man & one for bedding/towels etc. Sort the laundry into each basket where you do the laundry. Take each basket to the appropriate place, put the stuff away. The bit that gets me is sorting the general clean laundry bundle on the landing into D, M & me to put stuff where they belong.


Leave a Reply

