jump to navigation

Where can I get measured for an apron? January 23, 2010

Posted by The Mom in Uncategorized.
trackback

I made bread!

I blame Margot. Yesterday she linked to Artisan Bread in 5 Minutes on Face.book and I followed the link. 20 minutes of Googling later and I had decided to give it a go. Today I went out & bought more flour (even though I thought I had enough) and yeast. I followed the instructions and ended up with bread dough billowing out the top of the bowl 🙂 The gluten cloak bit didn’t make sense to me and so I did that bit wrong but I decided to go ahead with it anyway. I don’t have a pizza stone & ended up with greaseproof paper stuck to the underside of the bread but even with that it turned out fantastically. M was blown away when he came home. Everything that I made today has been eaten already 🙂

J’s Godmother is coming for dinner tomorrow and I will make more as the recipe is the equivalent of 4 1lb loaves and can stay in the fridge for two weeks!

After he ate it earlier M informed me that I could stop buying bread in the supermarket and just made bread at home!

I had instigated a “no new stuff for the kitchen” rule recently so that I could get the kitchen sorted out but I think I will have to break that in order to buy myself a pizza stone and an oven thermometer as I am now sure that my oven runs hotter than it says on the dial.

Before I baked the bread I started phase 1 of The Battle of the Oven. My oven is embarrassing, although it is a little less embarrassing now than it was this morning. I got my cleaner to clean it at some point last year but it wasn’t a great job. Today I cleaned one of the racks as clean as I could get it within the time I had available and also cleaned the roasting tray that lives in the bottom of the cooker & the glass on the door. The oven was by no means clean when I finished but it was just the first of many parts in The Battle of the Oven.

Comments»

1. bionicbrooklynite - January 24, 2010

better you than me — i figure everything burns out of the oven eventually.

baking bread, however, is something i can do. i highly recommend this recipe, which is dead easy (though it takes some time): http://www.nytimes.com/2006/11/08/dining/081mrex.html

2. Poppy - January 24, 2010

L, since you are so in love with your dishwasher at the moment, why not get it to join you in the battle of the oven?!

Put your oven racks in bottom of the dishwasher and put it on the hottest wash. As soon as the cycle has finished take out the still hot racks and rub them with a scouring pad. All the black bits (and there will be a lot!) will just flake off. But you have to make sure the racks are still hot when you are scouring. Then just rinse them under the tap and they will look like new. Promise.

Laura - January 24, 2010

I will try that one 🙂


Leave a Reply

