jump to navigation

The Next Room Begins January 28, 2010

Posted by The Mom in Uncategorized.
trackback

Today I made bread. I have made bread five days in a row now and it keeps getting better 🙂

Yesterday we could not find 6 alphabet blocks for D to make a tower for J. Today the dining room (know no longer containing a dining table but rather the childrens toys) reached the point where it annoyed me too much. I tipped out the general toy box, cleared out the dolls house, washing machine, dishwasher, cooker, fridge and sink (all of which were FULL of bits of toys). I started sorting into Lego, Duplo, wooden, play food, train, bin & plastics. Then I found a bag full of yet more bits of toys & play food. All of the dolls house furniture went straight into the dolls house.

I got to the end of the day, but not the end of the job & put the remainder of the unsorted stuff back into the box. I put the food, wooden & plastics boxes away, closed up & stacked the Lego & train boxes & put the Duplo box back where it lives.

The remainder of the stuff to be sorted fills the box that was full before I started but the play kitchen is clear & there aren’t random bags & boxes full of toys.

I am very aware that the toy corner in the sitting room, that was never sorted when the toys were moved into the other room, is another repository of toy bits but I am not going near it until the dining room is finished. Once the toys are sorted I am going to move the books from the sitting room onto the new shelves over the toy kitchen.

I have some IKEA boxes that are acting as storage boxes but they are too small. I am happy to go with a bigger version of what I already have:

Comments»

1. Ruth - January 29, 2010

Sounds like you’re turning into a real domestic goddess!

I’ve always been a bit neurotic about toys, I’m the queen of storage boxes and drawers. 🙂
In fact, we have some of the the smaller boxes for S’s room, they’re handy as the clearance under her bed was very low.


Leave a Reply

