jump to navigation

A Way of Life February 2, 2010

Posted by Laura in Uncategorized.
trackback

I have been flying for a little over 3 weeks & it is becoming a way of life rather than a new fancy. I am instinctively putting stuff away rather than just putting it down.

Today I went grocery shopping, I didn’t pay for a shopping bag, I brought home the groceries and put them all away straight away. But I didn’t buy bread. I haven’t bought bread in a week. I now spend 60c a day and bake my own.

M & D went birthday present shopping today but were told that the breadmaking books aren’t available in Ireland but that they can order them on the Interweb for him. He told them not to bother, that I could do it myself. So I did just that. I ordered both books, they are due for dispatch on Thursday. They won’t be here in time for my birthday but that is not the end of the world.

My kitchen has been clean every day (that I have been here) for 3 weeks. I am no longer cross with M for jobs that he didn’t do that I either expected him to do or wanted him to do but didn’t ask him to. I no longer expect him to empty the bin, recycling or dishwasher. I just get on with doing it & then it is done & I’m not resentful that no one else did it.

My stairs are clear and have been for 3 weeks. The longest anything stays is between when Mark, the post man, comes and bedtime.

This months new habit from flylady is 15 minutes of decluttering every day. Yesterday it was the car. It was emptied, completely! It was due for service and it needed to be empty for that so I emptied it before hand and vacuumed it afterwards. At the end of the day yesterday and today I took out anything that didn’t belong. Today it was the crap that had come in out of the car. It is funny, I can accept the fact that clearing the car was a 3 part job and I am OK with that ๐Ÿ™‚

The boys toys remain sorted in their corresponding boxes. There is still more work to do in there but it hasn’t gone backwards.

I feel better. I feel more in control.

D & I have started structured learning and we are both enjoying it. It is both web and paper based which makes it very portable. There is a lot of external pressure coming now that he is approaching 5. Everyone and his mother has an opinion on D’s emotional & psychological wellbeing and more significantly everyone has an opinion on the suitability of homeschooling. There is a change of attitude (mainly in me) with the change from “I want/plan to homeschool” to “I am homeschooling”. Watch this space for updates on schooling.

I will leave you with photos of my bread ๐Ÿ™‚

Comments»

1. Ruth - February 9, 2010

Is it weird that I think of you when I’m cleaning my kitchen?!

Look forward to reading more about the homeschooling ๐Ÿ™‚


Leave a Reply

