jump to navigation

A picture tells a thousand words May 26, 2010

Posted by Laura in Uncategorized.
trackback

Well, maybe not a thousand but it is certainly easier to see what is going on than to try to read about it so here we have:

Mange tout. The one on the end REFUSES to climb up the stick it has been provided with. I need to change the stick at the weekend 🙂

This is 3 rows of onions, white if memory serves. There is about 200 hundred onion plants (white, red & shallots).

These are our elephant garlic. I can’t wait to try them out. I have never actually seen them in person (other than the ones that I sowed in the ground).

One of our 7 blueberry bushes in bloom

This is my first attempt at growing gerkins (I am sure there should be a h in there but it always looks wrong). M is interested in home pickled gerkins. He can do the pickling!

Taking advantage of the heat in the tunnel I am trying my hand at bell peppers

Broccoli. What else do I have to say about broccoli?

Lettuce, bell peppers. The lettuce in this tray have EXPLODED in the last week. They are huge now!

I paid €6 for 12 butternut squash seeds last week and to my delight there is 5 of the 6 I sowed growing.

Check out the newest resident in the borrowing house

I had the run 2/3 of the way built this morning and it was a lovely day. I realised at about 1pm that if I got the run mostly finished then I could have chickens TODAY! The chicken man comes to town every other Wednesday and I realised that today is the on Wednesday. If I didn’t get them today it would be another 2 weeks before I could get them. I need to arrange to collect the 5 that I bought earlier in the year but I really didn’t want to wait 2 weeks to get the extra ones.

At 2.35pm I had half the height of chicken wire done which was enough for girls who were going to be a little shell shocked by the move. Only the one photographed came out of the house. She had a little wander around and then went to bed. They are all in bed now, snuggled up in the nest boxes. I will get more photos when they are all moving around.

As yet unphotographed:
Barlotti beans
Climbing french beans
Corn
Baby corn
Rocket
Courgettes
PSB
Potatoes
Swiss chard
Spinach

More photos to follow…

Comments»

1. Ruth - May 27, 2010

Pics – woo!

Wow the blueberry bushes are quite pretty aren’t they!
We grew bell peppers here one year and the smell is divine.

Yay for hens! They are so much fun, I love watching our pair wander around squawking at imagined threats. 🙂
How many will you have in total? Did you build the house yourself or were you just assembling it?

Laura - May 27, 2010

I have 10 altogether. I bought the house built, I made a run from scratch. I will eventually use it as a brood house when we move to the land

2. Derval - June 2, 2010

Very cool Laura. Have you read Barbara Kingsolvers “Animal, Vegetable, Mineral” I’m sure you’d enjoy it.


Leave a Reply

