jump to navigation

I don’t write about the kids much July 29, 2010

Posted by The Mom in Uncategorized.
trackback

And now I have done it twice in a row.

J is a talker.  D wasn’t.  We struggled to understand him for a long time and translated what he said for even longer.  He signed a lot which limited his frustration and lots of the signs lingered.  Even now he still likes to sign.  J on the other hand talks.  All the time.  He is his Mamma’s son.  I show him a sign while saying the word and he brushes off the sign and tries to say the word.

I sat making a list of J’s words (I am up to 68) but I was having a really hard time distinguishing between his receptive & expressive language (what I know he can understand and what I know he can say).  He understands everything I say to him but obviously can’t say it all.  The kid understands 3 part instructions.  Take for example his clothes.  He knows where his socks, trousers, tshirt, jumper etc are but they are all called kyah.  The same goes for body parts… knows them all but they are all called dehdeyah (there they are).  I realised last night that when D was 21 months he knew at least red, yellow and blue and J doesn’t know any colours… or at least not that I know of.  I bet if I start with him in the morning he will be identifying and saying at least those 3 by the end of the week.

He picks up words so fast, in part because D is around talking to him all the time.  I really don’t want to hot house him but I am interested to see what I can get into his vocabulary in a few days.  Time to root out the first words book, especially as it is something that D can do with us.

For future reference here are his words at 20 months.

all gone
apple
ball
banana
bath
bathroom
bed
bird
biscuit
book
bread
Buckle
bus
car
carry
cat
chair
Chaya
clothes
coke
covers
Dadda
Daniel
dirty
dog
door
down
drink
garden
girl
Goodbye
Grandad
Grandma
Hello
Horse
house
key
Laura
Mamma
man
Mick
milk
more
Nanna
no
now
pants
pen
penis
Phone
plaster
poo
porridge
pot
shoes
spoon
strawberries
tablets
tea
thanks
there
toilet
up
van
water
window
wine
yes
Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

