jump to navigation

My head hurts September 28, 2010

Posted by The Mom in Uncategorized.
trackback

I have, before we have broken ground, reached a point where I want to run, kicking and screaming, away from this house.  We have some money left over from the sale of our house to get started building with.  This afternoon I got a quote for the first part of the building including site clearance and the installation of the waste treatment along with the construction of the foundations and first floor.  The quote would leave us with €1,500!  It is twice what I expected it to be.  I can’t continue like this.  I can’t go on hearing telephone numbers for the construction of my house.

I don’t have expensive tastes but the County Council put so many restrictions on the site & design that there is a huge amount of work involved in just getting the area ready to be built on.

I am dreading ringing M to tell him.  I prewarned him about a figure that I had in mind, based on a labour only quote I got elsewhere and the quote today was double that!  I hate being the bearer of bad tidings.  I am also sick of having to explain the same stuff over and over.

Why can’t I win the Lotto?  Well, I would have to buy a ticket but if we get past that.  Why can’t I? Maybe tomorrow…

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

